WORDS FROM NEWBORN RODEO- A HUSTLER DISGUISED AS A BLOGGER

n1145040085_30051192_4829

After reading other people’s blogs for years, I started my own 4 months ago. Around the same time I was beginning the most difficult semester of my college career, but I couldn’t care less. I was immediately consumed by blogging. Memories include working on accounting at the library until the early morning, coming home and blogging for hours, and then going to class at the break of dawn. I had many a sleepless night just to keep a blog that nobody was reading updated.

Soon after, I took a trip to New York City that changed my life. I was only there for a week, but it didn’t take much for me to realize that I needed to live there. Me and my crew ran around the city all day, every day. We met with record label executives, magazines, other bloggers and artists. Time seemed so much more exciting and opportunistic than it does on campus. It was easily one of the best weeks of my life.

So it’s 4 months later. What do I do now? I’m moving to NYC for the summer. A lot of people do read my blog now. But what the fuck am I even aiming for? I’m coming off my worst semester ever and these dreams of mine have a lot to do with it. 

I don’t even specifically know what I want to do, but I’m far too interested in the things I write about to not be directly involved with them. I want it all. I want to get my foot in the door in several industries and I just need a summer to prove myself. But what if I get to NYC and it’s not everything I thought it would be? Do I just throw away a degree and a life of guaranteed success and take my chance in fields that are extremely competitive and equally dim? I’m not sure if I should, but the scary thing is, I know I will.

ernest.baker via newbornrodeo.com

5 Responses to “WORDS FROM NEWBORN RODEO- A HUSTLER DISGUISED AS A BLOGGER”


  1. 1 Rich K January 6, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    hey man, go do your thing this summer. do everything yove always wanted to do… the school will always be there, u can go back. dont sit around wondering what if.. keep up the good work on the blog too, im diggin man

  2. 2 madison January 9, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    don’t just leave school with no other plan in sight… if anything transfer to a school in NYC but education is more important now than ever. and where r u from anyway?

  3. 3 A-LIST January 10, 2009 at 3:56 am

    i agree with madison, youre are going to need that degree more than ever, you think your field is dim now? that ish is about to get pitch black! and im assuming youre in the business field at school? that may also seem like thats a dead end considering our nations circumstances now, but it will get better, and when that happens (if other things dont work out) you’ll be there to kick in door.

  4. 4 newbornrodeo January 23, 2009 at 12:57 am

    there’s been a misunderstanding. while i do plan on moving to new york for the summer, i’ll still return to school for my senior year. hopefully i can establish some relationships over the summer and live there full time after graduation.

    still, thanks for the comments and advice.


  1. 1 Just A Hustler Disguised As A Blogger « Newborn Rodeo Trackback on January 6, 2009 at 1:42 am

Leave a Reply

