WORDS FROM JEANETTE IZDABES- PAIN AND GROWTH

q

After 23 years on this planet and I will never be truly prepared for these, but I have to accept them as facts of life. Pain & Growth. For so long I ignored the two as if they never coincided, then after suffering through a series of tragic losses I realized the two go hand-in-hand. Of course you can have growth without pain, but pain is this enigma that sparks growth. Death, separation, trauma, banishment, denial and sometimes love are all painful, in time you move on (hopefully working through it all) during recollection you look back at the time before you experienced the pain and BAM…growth. You are not the same person before and never will you be at that point again, so I guess a supplement to Pain & Growth should be Happiness. And for sure I’m una muchacha feliz!

I wish I could reference words of endearment from an elder, or a kind word from a parent that resonate so deeply that I could tell you off hand, but ask me about a painful situation and I can list what happened, why, and how I ultimately triumphed. My most obvious and contemporary experience with pain and growth? A sister shaved her head (because I relaxed it and it was beginning to fall out…Ouch) and now I am watching it grow back, this has become one of the most beautiful moments in my life, it’s simple and understated yet so profound.

In life we all experience pain though we all process it differently, however growth is inevitable. Peace.

xo

Jeanette Toomer

0 Responses to “WORDS FROM JEANETTE IZDABES- PAIN AND GROWTH”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

