WORDS FROM SAMUEL- GIVING THANKS

l_a58c6d408f2ac368d0c8ba81487c15d1
Giving Thanks

I like remembering the first time I went to a recording studio to demo my own music. I was young but not naive. I wanted to spend as much time in the booth as possible. If that meant not sleeping or eating then so be it. I was awkward and could barley sing but the few people in the room (listening to me belt out lyrics too emo for even the saddest teen) believed in me.

I have walked very far since that time. I am in a different studio now. In a different part of the world. Working on different music. The few people around me have gone from friends to family, and we are together in some metaphysical tour bus traveling towards the same great gig in the sky. We have accomplished so much in the past year and it feels like just the tip of the iceberg.

There is contradiction in all perfection.
The devil is in the details.
You can buy real estate in taxi cabs.
My girlfriends think it’s normal to be sad.

I am getting signed to a major label. It’s surreal, almost unbelievable. I am sitting in this studio taking breaks from writing songs by playing Rock Band on XBox 360. I am getting signed to a major label. Even if I say it enough times it sounds false.

New York City has started to get cold. That time of the season when I feel like big dogs should be warming people up with hot brandy. The time of year when people go crazy or go to the bahamas. There’s too much dust in this town; too many old fairy tales. The first time I took the subway alone I was not scared. I bought a new Moleskine the other day and the first time I opened it I got a really bad paper cut, I smeared the blood on the first page and wrote: “It occurred to me I hadn’t seen my own blood in a while. A reminder to the fragility and fleetingness of life and our physical forms.” I realize that is a mistake. What we do now matters and will continue to matter for all time. It is what makes us human. Not dancer.

This time of year is a time when we must remember.
This time of year is a time when you can forgive.
This time of year is a time when I must give thanks.

Thank you to my parents for putting up with me
Thank you to my sister for putting up with me
Thank you to my friends for putting up with me
Thank you to Anders for making me a better person
Thank you to Ben for helping make our dreams come true
Thank you to James for being the most talented person in the world and inspiring me to do better
Thank you to Eric for being level headed and genuine
Thank you to the deli on my corner for making me breakfast everyday
Thank you to my first piano teacher for putting keys under my fingers
Thank you to the private school I got kicked out of
Thank you to the public school that accepted me
Thank you to acid for breaking open my mind
Thank you to Parliament Lights for nothing
Thank you to music for being my roommate when no one else is home
Thank you to my shoes for being on my feet
Thank you to Europe for being my future home and birthplace of my future wife
Thank you to everyone who is institutionalized, without your sacrifice I might be in your place
Thank you to Fyodor Dostoevsky for introducing me to true sadness
Thank you to my dog for being cute
Thank you to my ears for hearing all
Thank you to my life for being mine
Thank you
Thank you
Thank you

Peace and Love,

Samuel

1 Response to “WORDS FROM SAMUEL- GIVING THANKS”


  1. 1 c November 27, 2008 at 10:59 am

    love your words and you
    hope to see you soon dear

    xo,
    c


Leave a Reply

