WORDS FROM JEWELS- ANOMALY

lil-me-11

anomaly |əˈnäməlē|
noun ( pl. -lies)
1 something that deviates from what is standard, normal, or expected :
there are a number of anomalies in the present system | a legal
anomaly | [with clause ] the apparent anomaly that those who produced
the wealth were the poorest | the position abounds in anomaly.

I, now like the idea of being an anomaly; it’s interesting how
evolution happens.
As a child it bothered me, I always felt excluded; adults never got
me and kids never got me.  People have always said I was different,
more different than lots of other people they have ever met.   I was a
little Black girl from the Bronx, who spoke “like a White girl” who
had the vocabulary of an adult going to private parochial schools in
the hood.  I was so offended when people would say I spoke like a
white girl…I wasn’t exactly sure what it meant but I knew it wasn’t
good and I knew I wasn’t white.
I also knew I had no desire to be a hoodbooga!  I didn’t want no drama
and I didn’t want no babies.  I’ve always wanted more than what’s in
front of me.  I was (and still am) afraid of being locked into this
box, where my whole world is 5 blocks big.  Afraid of being lumped in
with statistics and stereotypes….the hood can chew you up and spit
your ass out something wicked!
I just wanted to be a writer and to be better than all my yesterdays.
To be freer than my mother, and her mother, and her mother.  Free to
be Roman in Rome, and Brazilian in Brazil and be African, everywhere.
Even now I still throw people for a loop, but now, their surprise is
my satisfaction.

0 Responses to “WORDS FROM JEWELS- ANOMALY”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

